Sunday, November 20, 2011

Well, I might as well try.

Try to keep up with blogging and whatnot. :)
For a while I was considering giving it up, but what the heck right?
Anyway, I guess I should catch everyone up... In three days I fly out to PA to start the road trip of a (new) lifetime with Kitten. I've been cleaning and fixing and preparing like mad for weeks and it's finally happening! So much happy! Not to mention that today is our semi- aniversary - 6 months! More happy! We're also having my family's impromptu mini thanksgiving dinner tonight, since we won't be together for the actual day as I will be in PA with Kitten and her family. :)
Anyway, Kitten has her side of our travel blog up and running and I'll get mine going either tonight or tomorrow. Then all I have to do is teach Mom how to find Blogger on her phone so she can keep up with us in our travels, while she's on her road trip to the Grand Canyon.

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

If the world ends tonight... Dance Party in Hell tomorrow!

In all seriousness... There should be some sort of worldwide dance party/Rave to commemorate the end of the world.

The reason I bring this up is the undeniable fact that the world is quite obviously going to shit. Religious nuts are getting nutty-er, politics are getting worse, we're still at war more or less and despite the fact that gas prices in town are $3.16, the economy is pretty much trash. Now I'm not just talking about politics or government or the economy or what have you, but mother nature herself as well.
Oklahoma, well it's not exactly known for it's seismic activity.In the past three days we've had three "major" earthquakes. I say major only because the normal is nothing, and two 4.7s and a 5.2 are pretty major around here.(my numbers may be very slightly off btw) Needless to say, this is kind of a cause for alarm. Not that there's anything anyone can do about it, but it's just another sign of the big bad. I actually find it quite exhilarating.

The thing about this state that I always seem to forget, is that we're used to big freak storms, tornadoes and hurricane remnants. But when one such freak storm happens following a very nice day and another random 4 point earthquake happens in the middle of that, well, it's not a quieting feeling to say the least. And I really don't get nervous about the weather, so that's saying something.
Now if you don't believe that this is enough evidence to prelude the apocalypse, try this on for size-
This summer, Tornadoes wipe out half a dozen midwestern towns in the span of a week. Then... Oklahoma suffers a horrible drought and Texas practically burns to the ground, while the northern east coast gets hit with a hurricane, causing record rainfall and flooding. Not enough for the east coast? How about a freak snowstorm and freeze leading to massive power outages for almost a week - in October! Correct me if I'm wrong, but all of this in the same year... pretty ominous. At least the west coast seems to have gotten off easy (as far as I know) not that they haven't had their fair share of bad luck in the past.
It's not even just here in the states, Japan got hit so hard this year I'm actually surprised it's still on the map. And I'm sure there's dozens of other global situations that happened this year that I just never heard of (being a person that actively tries to avoid watching the news or reading the paper... not as easy as it sounds)

I'm not someone who believes all the religious bullshit that people spew about the second coming or hell coming to earth or whatnot, but you don't have to believe in god or the devil to realize that some serious shit is fixing to go down on our little blue rock here. Will I be shocked it all ends on 12/21/12 like the Mayans said? Not one bit. Do I read Mayan and know exactly what they said will happen? No, but from what I've heard, they're probably happy they aren't around right now. I'm not saying that I believe that the total annihilation of the planet, I think that the "reset" of the Mayan calender means the exact same thing for the earth, a reset. The factory settings will still be there, but you're gonna have to re-sync your device to get your music back. In other words, all the advances in technology, a large portion of the population, and probably most major cities would get wiped out and we'd start over from the beginning. My hope is that if a situation like this actually happens, the surviving population would work together to preserve itself and throw all of this political bullcrap out with the rest of the world. That's where we went wrong in the first place- one group trying to lay claim to something another group wants, causing separation and disconnect, leading to war, which makes technological advancement necessary, and then we end up here.

I think that's really all the heavy stuff I wanted to lay down... except I really wasn't kidding about a World Wide End Of The World Rave. Make it happen people!

(disclaimer: My facts about timelines and records and Richter scale numbers were not checked before posting, I am not an expert on anything covered in the above post {or anything at all} Also, I am not at all unhappy with life, living or anything of that sort, this is not me being depressed and morbid, I just think the world is falling apart, easy as that.)

Saturday, November 5, 2011

Hey guess what?!?!?

Updating from my phone because I'm too lazy to type stuff out on the computer and I want to just lay in bed. :)
Sadly though, typing on my phone keyboard really hurts because my thumb nails are all jacked up and have to be cut down to where the bed is showing, not fun.
I could probably write a whole post on nails and how mine suck, and I probably will, but this isn't going to be it.
What I actually wanted to type about is the fact that there was just an earthquake! In central OK! WTF!!! Ok, so it's not the first earthquake this state's had, not even since I've been here, but I actually felt this one! It made my house shake... It was creepy. My first earthquake. I think I've actually been through three or four, but strangely I always miss them somehow. The last one was while I was in Tulsa and it didn't wake me up until it was over and I just fell right back asleep without noticing anything had happened.
Ya know what... I don't feel like typing anymore and my thumbs hurt. :p that was all I really wanted to comment on, so I'm going to attempt to sleep now and hope the house doesn't decide to collapse on me. Hahaha.

posted from Bloggeroid

Friday, October 28, 2011

The "Do Not Understand" List


I've decided to make a list of things I don't understand. It will be a short list to start with but I think I will add to it in particularly labeled posts (rather than going back and editing this post every time, where no one would see it.) The idea of this list will be to have mini-rants over topics that don't make sense to me. Pointless little things that have too short of an argument for a full blog post. These things will be put down as I think of them, so there will be no defined order or sequence to the list. This way, I can rant about these minor yet valid things and not waste everyone's time with tiny blog posts ( I feel like it's not worth reading if it's too short... like it's dying right when you get interested if it's like that... I don't know... don't look at me like that! o.O)
And so, The Do Not Understand List:

1. Memorial stickers on cars:
    Sure this seems like a great idea, but for some reason every time I see a car window with "in memory of so and so" all I can think is "why would you put that on your car you doorpost?!"  Anyway... I know it seems like an odd thing for someone with a memorial tattoo to get peeved over, but I feel like there's a fairly substantial difference between tattoos and car decals. The first difference being that I feel like it's more personal or even respectful to put a person's memory on your skin, they become part of you, something you (hopefully) respect and take care of, whereas a car, much less likely to be taken care of as well. sure some people take really good care of their cars, but really now, I love my car, but I love my body more, I'm not gonna have my car tucked in bed while I sit out in a parking lot or a driveway in a hailstorm. Just how it is. Second thing, you might have gone to a lot of trouble to pick out the font and the clip art to send to the decal making company or whatever, but it's still just clip art and a standard font, it's not all that personal. People who get memorial tattoos typically get something hand designed, either by themselves of by an artist for them, it's unique and symbolic. I'm sure I could go over that bit better, but I'll leave it there. My last thing on this is - It's your car! How're you ever going to sell that thing when it says "Rest In Peace Fido" on the back window?

2. The dictionary:
    This just came to me actually as I was typing the above mini rant. My computer's spell check wanted to make "Doofus" into "doorpost" so I let it because I find it amusing. But then I got to thinking, why isn't Doofus a recognized word? I mean Homer Simpson's "D'oh" is in the dictionary for Mothers sake! The dictionary people are adding all sorts of stupid words that shouldn't be part of the English language and they can't add Doofus? I guess I'll just have to call people Doorpost from now on.

3. This thing...
Squishable Beartato
The Beartato Squishable. (purchase here: http://www.squishable.com/pc/squish_beartato_15/Big_Animals/Squishable+Beartato)
What I don't quite understand is why I kinda want one... but what I really don't understand is how is that half potato? I see the bear, but other than that, it kinda reminds me strangely of the Tooth Fairies in Hellboy 2...

Well I think that's it for now folks, I'll think of more confusing things soon I'm sure. I think I'll also make different lists and update them the same way, let me know what you think.

Friday, October 21, 2011

The Toby Dog

Today I lost my dog for the second time in as many months. This time was much worse than the last time for a few reasons. One being I actually knew he was missing before he was found, and two, he's recently been diagnosed with epilepsy and needs medicine twice a day.
Toby is pretty much my best friend and I've realized recently how lost I would be without him. He's my baby, I raised him from a puppy, he was there for me when my dad died, ( I held onto the poor boy for hours that night) he's always so excited to see me weather I've been away at college for months or upstairs in my room for an hour. He's the best dog I could ever ask for even though a lot of the time I want to kick him in the face for being so frustrating.
A few weeks ago I came downstairs to find my boy seizing on the back porch. I went outside to try and help but he didn't know who I was and tried to run away from me. It was a knife in my heart. He eventually came around I got him to the vet where they kept him for a few nights. they sent him home to me with the diagnosis of epilepsy and a prescription of twice daily medicine for the rest of his life. Now I know what parents with sick children really feel like. You can't spontaneously go out for a night or a weekend, you're always watching for the slightest change in behavior or mood or appetite. And when they disappear even for a few hours, you feel like the world has stopped turning.  I get up every morning to give him his meds and feel so guilty if I take an extra hour for myself to sleep in. Every night, the same thing.
And then things like today happen. He goes missing from the yard and I mount a frantic search to find him before medicine time, knowing that his life depends on me bringing him home. After about two hours or so I found him wandering around on the other side of the neighborhood. I called to him and ran towards him but again he didn't recognize me. When I reached him he backed up a few steps and whined a little bit before he let me reach out to pet him. He must of remembered me pretty quick though because he was just fine in a few minutes and followed me home, but he was slow and quiet, not his usual excitable self.I know he must have gotten into someone's food somewhere along his adventure because he was stuffed full, his stomach was drum tight, so at least I know he wasn't starving. I'm not sure if he had another seizure while he was out, but his behavior was just like before when he came too - dazed, confused, sluggish and clumsy. It's so hard to see him like that and not know what happened. Is it just a reaction to the trauma of being lost? Did he seize? Did he eat something that made him sick? So many things could have gone wrong, all because he somehow got out of the yard (still a total mystery).

Sunday, October 16, 2011

Adventures in CrazyLand

As much as I don't want this blog to become my YouTube Vlogs, I'm going to re-cap my weekend thus far just because I feel like it. (And hope I don't fall into the habit of doing this whenever I'm bored and feel like I haven't done a post in a while)

And so, without further ado or nonsensical wordage... My Adventure into Crazyland: There will be Ponies!

Thursday night at school, we took our Mock State Board test. Talk about stress. So between sections My buddy and I decided we needed to go out after class and get drunk to celebrate finishing the Hell test. And thus the journey to Crazyland started. But actually, before we started the journey my whole class (led by my teacher) decided to play a really cruel prank on me and hide my combs (which I had only just become reunited with after they were stolen from my station by high schoolers) Needless to say, I was not pleased.
But anyway, I got the combs back, vowed vengeance on the lot of them and went home. I played with my MetalClay crap (see previous post) then got ready and was picked up by my buddy and her Boy.
Our first stop in Crazyland was three lime beers and an unlimited jukebox at a near empty bar then Pitas in the middle of a massive crowd of drunken co-eds. Then home, more MetalClay, disappointment, then sleep.

Friday: Much cleaning insued in preparation for my friend's arrival for an extended sleep over in Crazyland. So my friend (who shall henceforth be known as Nerd for sake of anonymity and by coincidence of an almost perfect anagram and accurate description) arrived late in the evening and we had a wild party for the remainder of the night.
Not really. Where you see "had a wild party" please read as the following:
After talking to Kitten for a while and having many a laugh about mine and Nerd's crazy and long past history,  I decided to sculpt figurines out of Sculpy. Not just any figurines, My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic figurines. specifically, Rainbow Dash.
 And when I say I decided, I mean to say that Nerd made me.
Then there was much squeeing when this came out as the final result.

The next morning I was awoken by multiple frantic text messages from my mother telling me to medicate the epileptic dog.
One this was done, Nerd and I took a trip to the craft store. There, we got lost, got fun stuff and almost broke some equally fun stuff.
After arriving home, another pony had to be sculpted. And thus Rainbow got a friend. AppleJack!
 Spike was also created, but I'm not really proud of him, so he's not going to be shown off.
In case no one has noticed, I am indeed a Brony (unless grown woman can't be bronies... But I think they can) I shall save my rant about my love of ponies for another time however. That was pretty much the extent of yesterday. Crazyland has lots of ponies.

As far as today goes, Nerd and I are multitasking. We have Sucker Punch playing and she's on Tumbler while I'm blogging. It's rather awesome here in Crazyland.

Friday, October 14, 2011

You ready for a jewelry rant?

I really have a bit of a story to tell aside from a jewelry rant, but since I'm doing this post to procrastinate from cleaning my room, I'll stick to the shorter topic. The other will come later. :)

So... I make jewelry, I make a lot of jewelry in a lot of different mediums. Chainmaile, wire, beaded, rubber, leather, clay, ect.ect. I love branching out and trying mew materials and mediums and such, and I've really wanted to start working more with precious metals (bigger money hehe). So as you can imagine, when I heard about MetalClay, I was super excited!

- For those that don't know, MetalClay is exactly what it sounds like, it's clay that has tiny particles or precious metal in it. When it's fired the clay burns away and you're left with solid silver, gold, copper or what have you.

To get on with the story, I finally broke down and bought myself a 10gram bag of silver clay and some stones and all the stuff to fire and make some nice rings and stuff. And yesterday it came in the mail, Yay! However, I went out last night with some friends and didn't have too much time to mess with it until I got home at 3am or so. But I did mess with it for a while last night and I'm pretty disappointed. first thing I realized is that 10 grams is not a lot. In fact, its nothing, it's depressing how very minuscule 10 grams is. The second disappointing thing about my new investment is that it's very hard to work with. the clay is crumbly and dry. I tried to solve that by adding a little bit of water, but that just looses you a lot of clay because it just drips or sticks to whatever you're using to shape it with (fingers, tools, table).
And finally, the firing process... Super cool because it can be done with a handheld butane torch, but there's some problems. The main one being that when the clay turns to metal it warps from what ever design you've put into it. So the intricate sculpting I did on a little pendant I was trying to make for Kitten pretty much melted away into one blob. Not cool. And the ring that I made, set with a small garnet stone, warped so bad it was two sizes too small, and sharp and ended up busting and dropping the stone. Also not cool. The side effect problem from this is that once you have the metal piece with no design on it, it's too hard to carve or shape or anything.
So basically I wasted half of my tiny supply of sucky, overpriced clay to make unusable and crappy stuff. I'm not pleased.

Thursday, October 13, 2011

well.....

I really can't decide if I've had a great night or a horrible night, there's a lot of things that happened that I'm just not sure which category they fall into... it's a fairly strange thing when that happens, usually there's only one, maybe two things like that in a night, but tonight... well, I'll just leave it at odd. (if any of this sounds really incoherent, I might have a concussion... to be explained further down the page)
So, to start. I guess I'll start with a good - Kitten finally got the care package I sent her today (it was supposed to arrive Monday, but UPS is dumb) and I got to watch her open it which was awesome because I love seeing her smile and I haven't seen too much of it in the past couple of months :(
So good tally stands at 1.

Then I head to school, nothing eventful with that, where my contact folds up and decides to hide inside my eye socket. this brings the tally up to: Good 1, Bad 1

After finding and disposing of rogue contact lens, was the packing for Mock State Boards, (big fake but important test we're taking tomorrow) and my Partner/guide/upper-class student decided to be negligent and I ended up finishing last, very frustrated and upset.
Total: Good 1, Bad 2

Up next, the whole class headed to dinner (separately) for a graduation party for the 2nd of our 3 seniors. this would have been +1 Good, except the restaurant was a little dive of a place with no sign outside, no street facing entrance ect.ect. and was impossible to find (particularly with one contact missing) so naturally I got lost and more frustrated.
Good 1, Bad 3

Getting to some good stuff... The restaurant was crowded with our group for the party so they had to set up an extra table, which I got to move to with another classmate and her boyfriend (my personal favorite classmate. Shhh don't tell) +1 Good
The food there was pretty much awesome too, they just brought out raw meat stuffs and we got to cook it ourselves in pots that were set into our table. +1 Good

That brings our total to a tie, 3:3

Unknown thing number 1 is that I'm not sure I enjoyed my meal enough to pay the required $25 for it... it was good, but I wouldn't have wanted to pay that much if I'd had a choice.
So then...
I come home to find one of my best friends has shared some very important and very unknown and personal info with the internet, pertaining largely to me. There's really no way to make that sound like not a supper big, bad deal and keep it anonymous. It really wasn't epicly bad or anything like that, I just didn't now and I didn't know how to react at first. (all worked out now and everything is cool)
We classify this as Unknown 2
Related to this is Unknown 3. During my process of figuring out how to handle and react to the new information I received from my bestie, I threw myself back onto my bed, forgetting that there was a sheet of glass laying there (the glass was for artwork purposes, it was serving as my makeshift clay table while I worked on ring forms.) conveniently, my head landed on said glass, breaking it into lots of little pieces and getting glass dust in my bedding.
The reason this is Unknown is that, while there is the fact that I kinda needed that glass, and it hurt and now I have to change the sheets, it was kind of epic that I managed to break it with my head and come away without a mark (aside from a bit of a headache). Also it was funny because Kitten was watching me and things like that are always about 20% more awesome when someone's watching (bonus points if you saw what I did there *coughBroniescough*).

So anyway, I'll let you decide how my evening went... if you can decipher the crackrush that I just typed out above... I can't figure it out myself. :P

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Didn't I Say Soap Opera?

I know I shouldnt be making any sort of public anything while I'm upset, but I kind of wanted to prove a point. in my about me section I stated that my life frequently resembles a soap opera, today I realized how true that is. If you'll notice, my earlier post has a very happy, excited "nothing could possibly go wrong" tone to it. That's how my day started and carried on until I got home from school tonight. before I get to that let me just say that this morning when I called my mother (at work) and told her our brilliant plan she was very supportive and even helped me look up cheap flights to PA, this is pretty much how she's always been about this whole plan of ours.
That said, tonight when I got home from class, I went to my mother's room to say hi and goodnight (we don't see each other at all on days she works) and she decides that is a perfect time to tell me that she's having second thoughts about Kitten moving in with us, that she thinks we're doing this too fast. She also seems to have decided that this move will somehow cause me to not finish school, and that things haven't been thought through enough and we're making a mistake.
The thing is, I'm determined to finish school so I can give Kitten and Myself a better life than what we've got right now, so I can support us when we're all the way on our own. If this move will do anything, it will make my drive to get my licence even stronger, without her I really have no motivation to do anything with my life because I know that mom will put me up for as long as I need (yes I know I sound like a spoiled brat, I wouldn't actually live with my mom for the rest of my life, but the point here is that she will continue to support me until I can do it myself). You might want to say here something like "well why not just wait a little longer?" but it's really not an option for either of us. If she doesn't get out of her current situation now then it will likely never happen, and If I go much longer being a solitary recluse with no motivation other than a face on the other end of the computer screen I'm going to flat out loose my mind, not to mention my drive to finish school and in effect,  my future.
I'm not saying my mom has no right to worry, or to be concerned or protective or what have you, I'm sure there's some good reasons behind some of her insecurities. As much as I hate to say it, there's always a risk of a relationship going badly and things blowing up in your face - I am well aware of this fact. But all I'm trying to say is that I have come to rely on my mother's support through this planning and decision making process and her sudden turnaround really struck me. It's one thing when a friend cautions you about possibly making a mistake, but when your own mother acts like you're throwing your whole life away and she has no confidence in you, it hurts.
I apologize if I seem like a whiny emo brat, I just needed to vent a little I guess. I actually do feel a bit better now. :)

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

My title bar has weird drop down options...

title is totally unrelated, I just couldn't think of anything to call this post and the drop down options are really weird. but anyway, I'm super excited because I have a trip planned and it's actually going to happen! (many former planned trips in my life have not happened - thus the excitement) not to mention this trip is the trip! and by that I mean, the trip that brings my girlfriend to live with me! the trip that started this whole blogging fiasco, the reason I'm here babbling incoherently at my keyboard, trying to get my fingers to cooperate.

allow me to attempt to speak English... my girlfriend (herein noted as: Kitten) currently lives in PA, we've been planning her move to OK for some time, but haven't ever really come up with anything definite due to ever changing circumstances. that has officially changed with the creation of a solid plan, complete with flight arrangements (no turning back now). This thanksgiving break, I'll be flying out, spending the holiday with Kitten and her family, then the two of us will pack up her car and drive home to Oklahoma together. the drive will probably take us two, maybe three days so we've decided to do a little road trip blog to commemorate this momentous occasion (i like big words) also to break up the monotony of a 26 hour drive. That's where the starting of this blogging thing comes in. we'll probably set up the new blog in the coming weeks- not that there will be much to say on the road trip until it starts, but maps and whatnot will probably be posted.
I've kinda just realized that blogging is like digital scrap-booking... how odd.

anyway, I think that's about all I can say on the subject without going into a cheezefest about how much I love Kitten and how exciting it is for me that we're making this step... and there I've started the cheezeworks - I shall stop. :D

as always

I have to try out every feature of every new thing i have. So naturaly my brain function goes something like this: " I can post blogs from my smartphone?! Theres a capture photo option on this app? I can use the front facing camera? Lets take a cheezy badly lit photo and put it on my blog!" Yep, thats my brain... And thats the face to go with it. Enjoy the crazyness
Published with Blogger-droid v1.7.4

Obligatory first post

This blog, well it'll probably rarely get updated to be honest. I created this account so my girlfriend and I can chronicle our road trip this thanksgiving, but I figured I should get familiar with the site and how this whole thing works first, so here I am, typing away about how I came to be typing this. Anyway, this particular blog will just be the written record of whatever I feel like saying, particularly if I don't feel like Vloging it on YouTube (since that whole era of my life seems to have ended.) The road trip, and probably subsequent adventures will be recorded in a separate blog so as to keep things neat and tidy. On the off chance that someone decides to follow or actually read this, be prepared for many a cosmetology school story or a jewelry making rant or two as these are the things that pretty much rule my life (aside from aforementioned girlfriend and my epileptic dog).